Playing his first games

For a beginner player, it is easier to play his first games on a 9*9 size goban to prepare to play on larger sizes goban (13*13 and 19*19). Indeed, on a small goban, it is easier to visualize what is happening, the stones are closer and a whole theoretical aspect of go is simplified.

In this article, I would explain two simple proverbs and some tips that can be used to play first games. It's a rather short article, because I didn't want to develop too much here some aspects of the game, these will be presented in future articles. At the end of this article, a demonstration game on a 9*9 goban will give you an image of what a go game can look like, with many explanations on the meaning of some moves played by both players.

Proverbs:

Proverb 1:

At the beginning of the game, play globally.

By "global" we mean here the fact of controlling strategic points on the goban at the beginning of the game, in order to develop more "local" territories and positions.

To illustrate this, we can take the image of two armies sending soldiers one by one to a given territory, with the objective of sharing it. Thus, each army will send soldiers to strategic points (hills, rivers or other...) at the beginning and then will gradually try with its army to consolidate these positions. Developing and consolidating directly one and only one position at the beginning of the game is therefore not a good idea, because then we cut ourselves off from the rest of the goban!

Example:

It is clear here that the black player has taken different positions on the upper and right edge of the goban, favouring rapid and global development, while the white player has only played locally in the lower left corner. Although he has made a safe territory of 12 points, the white player will have much more difficulty during the game to develop on the rest of the goban, and therefore to win other points, while for the black player it will be easier.

In the previous example, we notice that the black player and the white player (in a way) favored shots in the corner and on the edges. This brings us to the next proverb.

Proverb 2:

The corner is golden, the edge silver and the center is a public garden.

This proverb well known to go players refers to the construction of territory. Indeed, it is much easier to build a territory in the corner, then on the edge and finally in the center. This is why at the beginning of the game, players generally prefer the corners (it is "golden"), then the edges ("silver") and finally the center ("public garden").

Example:

On this example we have three different black territories, one in the corner, one on the edge and one in the centre. Each one is worth 9 points, but the one in the centre asked for twice as many stones for its construction as the one in the corner. This example illustrates that it is much easier and faster to build territories in the area and spread them out on the edge at the beginning of the game. It is often in the middle of the game, after having played many moves, that the territories in the centre will be formed.

Tips for your first games:

Here I will develop some tips, some of which are above all common sense, to have a good start in the game of go.

First tip:

The first and second lines of the goban are to be preferred to close the territories in the end game, or to support groups of stones. It is often not very interesting to play on these lines at the beginning of the game.

On a 9*9 goban however, the second line can be used earlier in the game because the territories are more quickly delimited than on a 19*19 goban.

Second tip:

Try not to always "follow" your opponent. When you think you don't need to answer one of his moves, play elsewhere to take the initiative! This is called "taking the path". The word sente is a Japanese word meaning to play first.

Third tip:

Try to play slowly at each move to take time to think. This may seem a little simple to read when talking about a puzzle game, but getting into the bad habit of playing too fast can cause many games to be lost, for example by not seeing that a group of stones is in atari (e.g. when this group has only one freedom left) or by tenuki (Japanese word meaning to play elsewhere) at any time.

Fourth tip:

Play and try new things. And if you respect the previous advice, you will learn much better from your mistakes!

If you have no one around you who wants to start the go, you will necessarily find a partner on the server Kgs (or Ogs, Tygem...). C’est un serveur français avec une assez grande communauté, idéal pour débuter lorsque l’on cherche des conseils.

After these two proverbs and those advices, you will find below a commented part to illustrate the points mentioned in this article. 

 

Download SGF

 

Have a good game!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Jouer ses premières parties

Pour un joueur débutant, il est plus facile de jouer ses premières partie sur un goban de taille 9*9 pour se préparer à jouer sur des goban de plus grandes tailles (13*13 et 19*19). En effet, sur un goban de petite taille, il est plus simple de visualiser ce qui se passe, les pierres sont plus proches et tout un pan théorique du go se simplifie.

Dans cet article, j’expliquerais deux proverbes simples et quelques conseils pouvant servir pour jouer ses premières parties. C’est un article assez court, car je ne voulais pas trop développer ici certains aspects du jeu, ceux-ci seront présentés dans de prochains articles. A la fin de cet article, une partie de démonstration sur un goban 9*9 vous donnera une image de ce à quoi peut ressembler une partie de go, avec de nombreuses explications sur la signification de certains coups joués par les deux joueurs.

Proverbes :

Proverbe 1 :

En début de partie, jouer globalement.

On entend ici par « global » le fait de contrôler des points stratégiques sur le goban en début de partie, pour par la suite de ces points développer des territoires et positions plus « locales ».

Pour illustrer cela, on peut prendre l’image de deux armées qui enverraient un à un des soldats sur un territoire donné, avec pour objectif de se le partager. Ainsi, chaque armée va envoyer au début des soldats sur les points stratégiques (collines, fleuves ou autres…) puis va au fur et à mesure, essayer avec son armée de consolider ces positions. Développer et consolider directement une et une seule position en début de partie n’est donc pas une bonne idée, car alors on se coupe du reste du goban !

Exemple :

On voit bien ici que le joueur noir a pris différentes positions sur le bord supérieur et le bord droit du goban, en privilégiant un développement rapide et global, tandis que le joueur blanc n’a joué que localement dans le coin inférieur gauche. Bien qu’il ait fait un territoire sûr de 12 points, le joueur blanc aura beaucoup plus de mal au cours de la partie à se développer sur le reste du goban, et donc à gagnée d’autres points, tandis que pour le joueur noir ce sera plus simple.

Dans l’exemple précédent, on remarque que le joueur noir et le joueur blanc (d’une certaine manière) ont privilégié des coups dans le coin et sur les bords. Cela nous amène au prochain proverbe.

Proverbe 2 :

Le coin est d’or, le bord d’argent et le centre est un jardin public.

Ce proverbe bien connu des joueurs de go se réfère à la construction de territoire. En effet, il est bien plus simple de construire un territoire dans le coin, puis sur le bord et enfin au centre. C’est pourquoi en début de partie, les joueurs privilégient généralement le coin (il est « d’or »), puis les bords (« d’argent ») et enfin le centre (« le jardin public »).

Exemple :

On a sur cet exemple trois territoires noirs différents, un dans le coin, un sur le bord et un au centre. Chacun vaut 9 points, mais celui du centre a demandé deux fois plus de pierres pour sa construction que celui dans le coin. Cet exemple illustre bien le fait qu’il est bien plus facile et rapide de construire des territoires dans le coin et de les étendre sur le bord en début de partie. C’est souvent au milieu de la partie, après avoir joué de nombreux coups, que les territoires au centre se formeront.

Conseils pour les premières parties :

Je vais ici développer quelques conseils, certains relevant avant tout du bon sens, pour partir sur de bonnes bases au jeu de go.

Premier conseil :

Les première et deuxième lignes du goban sont à privilégier pour fermer les territoires en fin de partie, ou pour faire vivre des groupes de pierres. Il est souvent peut intéressant de jouer sur ces lignes en début de partie.

Sur un goban 9*9 cependant, la deuxième ligne peut être utiliser plus tôt dans la partie car les territoires sont plus vite délimités que sur un goban 19*19.

Deuxième conseil :

Essayez de ne pas toujours « suivre » votre adversaire. Lorsque vous pensez que vous n’avez pas besoin de répondre à l’un de ses coups, jouez ailleurs pour prendre l’initiative ! On appelle cela « prendre le sente ». Le mot sente est un terme japonais voulant dire jouer en premier.

Troisième conseil :

Essayez à chaque coup de jouer lentement pour prendre le temps de réfléchir. Cela peut paraître un peu simplet à lire lorsqu’on parle d’un jeu de réflexion, mais prendre la mauvaise habitude de jouer trop vite peut faire perdre de nombreuses parties, par exemple en ne voyant pas qu’un groupe de pierres est en atari (ie : lorsque ce groupe n’a plus qu’une liberté) ou en faisant tenuki (terme japonais voulant dire : jouer ailleurs) n’importe quand.

Quatrième conseil :

Jouez et essayez de nouvelles choses. Et si vous respectez le conseil précedent, vous apprendrez bien mieux de vos erreurs !

Si vous n’avez personne autour de vous voulant commencer le go, vous trouverez forcément un partenaire sur le serveur Kgs. C’est un serveur français avec une assez grande communauté, idéal pour débuter lorsque l’on cherche des conseils.

Après ces deux proverbes et ces quelques conseils, vous trouverez ci-dessous une partie commentée permettant d’illustrer les points évoqués dans cette article. 

 

Download SGF

 

Bonnes parties !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *