Shapes and techniques: Shicho and Geta

We will talk about two techniques of stone capture, the shicho and the geta. At the end of the article, you will be able to solve some problems allowing you to familiarize yourself with these techniques.

A small clarification for the rest of the article, and for the next articles to appear: the white player and the black player can be designated only by the color of their stones, which are white and black.

Shicho:

Shicho is a Japanese term that can be translated as stairs. The term ladder is also used to refer to the same thing. But why talk about stairs at go game?

Example:

Here the marked white stone has only one freedom, symbolized by the cross, so it is in atari. White can therefore play on this cross to save his stone, because in this way, the group of two stones he will form will have two freedoms. Let's see what the black answers in this case:

The black player answers with stone 2, and the white group is again with only one freedom, symbolized by the cross: he is still in atari! He can therefore try to save his stones again by playing on the cross, but black will use the same technique and after 6 moves, both players will find themselves in the following position:

Once again, the white stones are in atari! White can try to save his stones, but maybe you will have understood it, black will use the same technique to keep the group of white stones in atari. If white persists in trying to save his stones and continues over the entire goban, both players will find themselves in the following position:

Despite the magnificent staircase formed by the white stones, black only has to play on the intersection marked by a square to capture the entire group of white stones! In fact, white should not have tried to save his stone from the beginning, because it was going to be captured in a form of stairs, or shicho.

A shicho is a capture technique that keeps the targeted stones in atari.

In the previous example, we see that if white tried to save his group of stones, it would take the form of a staircase following a diagonal of the goban. What happens if a white stone is placed on the path?

Example:

Here, the presence of the marked white stone will change the situation. Let's see this time what happens if white decides to save his stone taken in the black form.

After the above sequence, the white stones are saved with the white stone marked ! This stone is called a shicho breaker, or ladder breaker in English, because it stops the shicho and saves the group of white stones attacked.

Depending on the rest of the goban, therefore, a stone taken in a shicho can be saved or captured. To distinguish the case in which we find ourselves, it is necessary to visualize in his head the sequence of blows that will follow if you try to save (or capture) this stone. We call it "reading" the sequence of blows. To work on your reading skills, it is best to try to visualize during exercises or real games in his head the probable sequences of moves.

Geta:

Geta is a Japanese term that can be translated as a net. As its name suggests:

Geta is a technique used to capture stones by locking them in a "net".

Example:

The marked white stone is here trapped in the net, or geta, erected by black. Although it is now only a freedom, it cannot escape and is therefore captured. Let's see if white is trying to save his stone:

He pushes in 1, but black plays 2. Then if white pushes back in 3, black only has to play on the marked intersection to capture the three white stones, because they are in atari. So, the white stone was beautiful and well trapped! Let's look at another example of geta:

Example:

Here again, the two marked white stones are trapped in the black geta. Even if these two white stones have three freedoms, they cannot escape. You can check yourself in the exercise at the end of the article if you have understood why.

Here is one last example of geta, more complex this time:

Example:

 

In this example, the three marked white stones seem to be able to escape. However, thanks to the presence of the black stone, they are indeed captured. You can discover why through this interactive explanation:

 

Download SGF

 

This example, rich in variation, clearly shows the strength of geta in certain situations. Because to work, a geta depends only on the local position in which it is, while for a shicho, the global position of the goban and especially on the path of the shicho must be favorable. That is why, when it is possible, it is better to use a geta rather than a shicho when capturing stones.

Here are now 8 exercises to familiarize yourself with shicho and geta:

 

 

I hope you licked it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Formes et techniques : Shicho et Geta

Nous allons parler de deux techniques de capture de pierres, le shicho et le geta. En fin d’article, vous pourrez résoudre quelques problèmes vous permettant de vous familiariser avec ces techniques.

Une petite précision pour la suite de l’article, et pour les prochains articles à paraître : le joueur blanc et le joueur noir pourront être désignés seulement par la couleur de leurs pierres, soient blanc et noir.

Le shicho :

Shicho est un terme japonais pouvant se traduire par escalier. On emploie également le terme anglais ladder pour parler de la même chose. Mais pourquoi parler d’escalier au jeu de go ?

Exemple :

Ici la pierre blanche marquée n’a plus qu’une liberté, symbolisée par la croix, elle est donc en atari. Blanc peut donc jouer sur cette croix pour sauver sa pierre, car ainsi, le groupe de deux pierres qu’il formera aura deux libertés. Voyons ce que répond le noir dans ce cas :

Le joueur noir répond avec la pierre 2, et le groupe blanc se retrouve de nouveau avec une seule liberté, symbolisé par la croix : il est encore en atari ! Il peut donc essayer de sauver ses pierres une nouvelle fois en jouant sur la croix, mais noir va user de la même technique et après 6 coups, les deux joueurs se retrouveront dans la position suivante :

Encore une fois, les pierres blanches sont en atari ! Blanc peut essayer de sauver ses pierres, mais peut-être l’aurez vous compris, noir va user de la même technique pour maintenir le groupe de pierres blanches en atari. Si blanc s’obstine à vouloir sauver ses pierres et continue sur l’ensemble du goban, les deux joueurs se retrouveront dans la position suivante :

Malgré le magnifique escalier formé par les pierres blanches, noir n’a plus qu’a jouer sur l’intersection marquée par un carré pour capturer le groupe entier de pierres blanches ! En fait, blanc n’aurait pas dû essayer de sauver sa pierre dès le départ, car elle allait se faire capturer dans une forme d’escalier, ou shicho.

Un shicho est une technique de capture qui maintient les pierres visées en atari.

Dans l’exemple précédent, on voit que si blanc essayait de sauver son groupe de pierres, celui-ci allait prendre une forme d’escalier suivant une diagonale du goban. Que se passe t’il si une pierre blanche est placée sur le chemin ?

Exemple :

Ici, la présence de la pierre blanche marquée va changer la donne. Voyons cette fois ce qu’il se passe si blanc décide de sauver sa pierre prise dans la forme noire.

Après la séquence ci-dessus, les pierres blanches sont sauvées grâce à la pierre blanche marquée ! On appelle cette pierre un briseur de shicho, ou ladder breaker en anglais, car elle arrête le shicho et sauve le groupe de pierres blanches attaqué.

En fonction du reste du goban donc, une pierre prise dans un shicho peut être sauvée ou capturée. Pour distinguer le cas dans lequel on se trouve, il convient de visualiser dans sa tête la séquence de coups qui va suivre si on essaie de sauver (ou de capturer) cette pierre. On appelle ça « lire » la séquence de coups. Pour travailler ses facultés de lecture, le mieux est de s’efforcer lors d’exercices ou de partie réelles à visualiser dans sa tête les séquences de coups probables.

Le geta :

Le geta est un terme japonais pouvant se traduire par filet. Comme son nom l’indique :

Le geta est une technique permettant de capturer des pierres en les enfermant dans un « filet ».

Exemple :

La pierre blanche marquée est ici prise au piège dans le filet, ou geta, dressé par noir. Bien qu’elle n’est plus qu’une liberté, elle ne peut pas s’échapper et est donc capturée. Voyons voir si blanc essaie de sauver sa pierre :

Il pousse en 1, mais noir joue 2. Puis si blanc repousse en 3, noir n’a qu’à jouer sur l’intersection marquée pour capturer les trois pierres blanches, car elles sont en atari. Ainsi, la pierre blanche était belle et bien prise au piège ! Regardons un autre exemple de geta :

Exemple :

Ici encore, les deux pierres blanches marquées sont prises au piège dans le geta de noir. Même si ces deux pierres blanches ont trois libertés, elles ne peuvent pas s’échapper. Vous pouvez par vous même vérifier dans l’exercice en fin d’article si vous avez bien compris pourquoi.

Voici un dernier exemple de geta, plus complexe cette fois :

Exemple :

 

Dans cet exemple, les trois pierres blanches marquées semblent pouvoir s’enfuir. Pourtant, grâce à la présence de la pierre noire, elles sont bel et bien capturées. Vous pouvez découvrir pourquoi à travers cette explication interactive :

 

Download SGF

 

Cet exemple riche en variation montre bien la force du geta dans certaines situations. Car pour fonctionner, un geta n’est dépendant que de la position locale dans lequel il se trouve, alors que pour un shicho, la position globale du goban et notamment sur la trajectoire du shicho doit être favorable. C’est pourquoi lorsqu’on peut, il vaut mieux privilégier un geta à un shicho lors de la capture des pierres.

Voici maintenant 8 exercices pour vous familiariser avec le shicho et le geta :

 

 

J’espère que ça vous a plus !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *