Concept: aji

In this article we will present the notion of potential, or aji in Japanese. Aji is an abstract concept used to describe a position on the goban. It is not uncommon to hear players kibitzing and saying, "Um, there's aji there! "to designate a position where there is something possible...

Determine if there is aji in a position is based on two things:

  • Reading
  • Intuition

For the first, practising tsumegos is essential, for the seconde, tesujis and looking at professional games to learn new techniques is great but to practise both, playing a lot of games is the key. In this article, we will highlight the difference between "good" and "bad" aji.

A position where there is no (or little) aji is called "good" aji. That is to say, no move (twisted or not) is possible later in such position. Otherwise, it is called "bad" aji. We will see here two examples, one simple to explain the principle of aji and one more complicated from a professionals game.

First example:

Let's look at the next diagram:

Diagram 1

White has invaded black's corner, and black is solid on the outside and has a good influence. In this position, it is said that black has good "aji" because its position is very solid and there is no real weakness that white can exploit. Let's now look at diagram 2 below:

Diagram 2

Here, due to the position of the marked white stone, the black position is much weaker than before. Indeed, under good circumstances, white can take out its stone in atari and destroy the black position. This involves a shicho. If white comes out, we find the continuation of the shicho in the diagram below:

Diagram 3

If the shicho is good for white, it's a disaster for black! So in this position, until black has captured the white stone, he will have to constantly pay attention to the shicho! Isn't that awful?

Diagram 4

We also see in diagram 4 that the geta with black 3 does not work. After 3, A and B are miai: both save the white stones while capturing black stones.

Thus, a difference of a single stone can turn a positionwith "good" aji to one with "bad" aji.

Second example:

Here is a position of a game between Lee Changho 9p (black) and Park Yeonghun 9p (white), two Korean professionals, played in 2013 on the occasion of the 8th Siptan. Siptan was the equivalent of the Japanese Judan title: it was a fast Korean tournament where each player had an initial time of 10 minutes and a byo yomi of 5 periods of 40 seconds. This tournament, born in 2005/2006, was stopped in 2014.

Diagram 1

In the game, Black has just invaded the top side with 1, and White pushes black with 2 to force him to make an extension of two intervals with 3. White then plays 4, which is an aggressive move to attack the life base of the two Black stones while protecting the corner. Against this move, 5 is a tesuji! Indeed, if White wants to continue attacking black, he must play 6, Black responds lightly in 7 and 9.

But why is move 5 so interesting?

The first impression is that the Black exchange 5 for White 6 weakens the two black stones on the side, and this is the case. But here, Black is in the white sphere of influence because White is solid on both sides. Black must therefore manage his group in a light way, it is why he answers in 7 and 9.

After this sequence, stone 5 makes bad aji in the White corner. Let's look at diagram 2:

Diagram 2

It's the same game, but a few moves later. Black played stones on the right side, which allow to "reactivate" stone 5 of diagram 1 in the White corner. Thanks to the exchange 10, 11 and 12, if White does not protect in A directly, Black can himself go down to A to connect his stone and destroy the White corner. Let's now look at diagram 3:

Diagram 3

Here, it is the same position as the previous diagram, but the Black A exchanges for White B was not made. When Black exchange 1 for 2 and then returns in 3, this time against the Black move in C, White can choose to go down and keep his corner. So we see that here, because of the fact that there is no longer the Black stone in A, this exchange of moves (1, 2 and 3) is less severe against White's corner. The presence of stone in A is therefore essential in this situation!

But one of the difficulties in using aji is timing: it is important to use the aji of a position, or to make an exchange of moves creating aji in a position at the right time.

Diagram 4

Let's go back to diagram 4 above. This time, against the White 1 move, Black makes a tobi to get his group out and White consolidates his corner with the 2 move. At that moment, if Black plays move 3, White can answer solidly in 4. Note the difference with the position studied previously: this time, the aji in the corner is limited!

Here therefore, playing the Black move 4 one move too late makes that there is much less bad aji in the white position. Timing is therefore crucial! In a future article, we will look in more depth at the notion of aji by analyzing positions in professional games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Concept : l’aji

Nous présenterons dans cette article la notion de potentiel, ou aji en japonais. L’aji est une notion abstraite que l’on utilise pour qualifier une position sur le goban. Il n’est pas rare d’entendre des joueurs discuter en disant : « Hum, y’a de l’aji là ! » pour désigner une position où il y a quelque chose de possible, où ça sent le coup fourré …

Déterminer si il y a de l’aji dans une position se base sur deux aspects :

  • La lecture,
  • L’intuition.

Ces deux aspects se travaillent, le premier en s’exerçant aux tsumegos, l’autre aux tesujis et en regardant des parties de professionnel pour apprendre de nouvelles techniques et les deux en jouant beaucoup de parties. Dans cet article, nous soulignerons à l’aide d’exemples la différence entre « bon » et « mauvais » aji.

On appel « bon » aji une position où il n’y a pas (ou peu) d’aji. C’est-à-dire que aucun coup (tordu ou non) n’est possible plus tard dans cette position. On parle de « mauvais » aji dans le cas contraire. Nous verrons ici deux exemples, un simple pour expliquer le principe et un plus compliqué provenant d’un partie de professionnels.

Premier exemple :

Pour illustrer la notion d’aji, nous allons partir du diagramme ci-dessous :

Diagramme 1

Blanc a envahi le coin noir, et noir est solide à l’extérieur et possède une bonne influence. Dans cette position, on dit que noir a du bon « aji » car sa position est très solide et il n’y a pas vraiment de faiblesse que blanc peut exploiter. Voyons maintenant le diagramme 2 ci-dessous :

Diagramme 2

Ici, de part la position de la pierre blanche marquée, la position de noir est bien plus faible que précédemment. En effet, selon de bonnes circonstances, blanc peut sortir sa pierre en atari et détruire la position noire. Cette position fait intervenir un shicho. Si blanc sort, on retrouve la suite du shicho dans le diagramme ci-dessous :

Diagramme 3

Si le shicho est bon pour blanc, c’est la catastrophe pour noir ! Ainsi dans cette position, tant que noir n’aura pas capturé la pierre blanche, il devra constamment faire attention au shicho ! Effroyable non ?

Diagramme 4

On voit également dans le diagramme 4 que le geta Noir 3 ne marche pas. Après 3, A et B sont miai : l’un comme l’autre permettent de sauver les pierres blanches tout en capturant des pierres noires.

Ainsi, une différence d’une seule pierre dans une position permet de faire basculer l’aji de « bon » vers « mauvais ».

Deuxième exemple :

Voici une position d’une partie de Lee Changho 9p (noir) contre Park Yeonghun 9p (blanc), deux professionnels coréens,  jouée en 2013 à l’occasion du 8ième Siptan. Le Siptan était l’équivalent du titre Judan Japonais : c’était un tournoi Coréen rapide où chaque joueur a comme temps initial 10 min et un byo yomi de 5 périodes de 40 secondes. Ce tournoi né en 2005/2006 a dû être arrêté en 2014.

Diagramme 1

Dans la partie, Noir vient d’envahir le bord supérieur avec 1, et Blanc pousse noir avec 2 pour l’obliger à faire une extension de deux intervalles avec 3. Blanc joue alors 4, qui est un coup agressif visant à attaquer la base de vie des deux pierres Noires tout en protégeant le coin. Contre ce coup, 5 est un tesuji ! En effet, si Blanc veut continuer à attaquer noir, il doit jouer 6. Noir répond de manière légère en 7 et 9.

Mais pourquoi le coup 5 est-il si intéressant ?

La première impression est que l’échange Noir 5 pour Blanc 6 affaiblie les deux pierres noir sur le bord, et c’est le cas. Mais ici, Noir est dans la sphère d’influence blanche car Blanc est solide à gauche et à droite. Il doit donc gérer son groupe de manière légère, c’est pourquoi il répond en 7 et 9.

Après cette séquence, la pierre 5 fait qu’il y a du mauvais aji dans le coin Blanc. Regardons le diagramme 2 :

Diagramme 2

C’est la même partie, mais quelques coups plus tard. Noir a jouer des pierres sur le bord droit, qui permettent de « réactiver » la pierre 5 du diagramme 1 dans le coin Blanc. Grace à l’échange 10, 11 et 12, si Blanc ne protège pas en A directement, Noir peut lui-même descendre en A pour connecter sa pierre et détruire le coin Blanc. Regardons maintenant le diagramme 3 :

Diagramme 3

Ici, c’est la même position que le diagramme précédent, mais les échanges Noir A pour Blanc B n’ont pas été fait. Lorsque Noir échange 1 pour 2 et ensuite revient en 3, cette fois contre le coup Noir en C, Blanc peut choisir de descendre et garder son coin. On voit donc qu’ici, du fait qu’il n’y ai plus la pierre Noir en A, cette échange de coups (1, 2 et 3) est moins sévère contre Blanc. La présence de la pierre en A est donc primordiale ici !

Mais l’une des difficulté dans l’utilisation de l’aji est le timing : il est important d’utiliser l’aji dans une position au bond moment, ou de faire un échange de coups créant de l’aji dans une position au bon moment.

Diagramme 4

Reprenons avec le diagramme 4 précédent. Cette fois, contre le coup Blanc 1, Noir fait directement un tobi pour sortir son groupe et Blanc consolide son coin avec le coup 2. A ce moment, si Noir joue le coup 3, Blanc peut répondre solidement en 4. Noté la différence avec la position étudiée précédemment : cette fois, l’aji dans le coin est bien plus limité !

Ici donc, jouer le coup Noir 4 un coup trop tard fait qu’il y a beaucoup moins de mauvais aji dans la position blanche. Le timing est donc crucial ! Dans un prochain article, nous verrons plus en profondeur la notion d’aji par l’analyse de positions dans des parties de professionnels.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *